2008 MacArthur “Genius” Grants Awarded

The 2008 MacArthurs were just announced. And one goes to Alex Ross, the New York­er music crit­ic who recent­ly pub­lished The Rest is Noise, a wide­ly praised work that makes sense of 20th cen­tu­ry clas­si­cal music. Below we have Ross talk­ing about his musi­cal back­ground, the New York music scene and the gen­er­al gist of his book.

Sub­scribe to Our Feed

via Kottke.org

by | Permalink | Comments (0) |

Sup­port Open Cul­ture

We’re hop­ing to rely on our loy­al read­ers rather than errat­ic ads. To sup­port Open Cul­ture’s edu­ca­tion­al mis­sion, please con­sid­er mak­ing a dona­tion. We accept Pay­Pal, Ven­mo (@openculture), Patre­on and Cryp­to! Please find all options here. We thank you!

Leave a Reply

Open Culture was founded by Dan Colman.