Mozart’s Musical Scores Now Fully Available Online

As the celebration of Mozart’s 250th birthday winds down, the International Mozart Foundation has offered up a nice gift to Mozart enthusiasts by putting online the master’s full body of work. This web site, called the Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, lets visitors explore over 600 individual works, or 24,000 pages of music, which were formerly available only in print. You can access the site in English, and you can peruse it as much as you like. The only caveat is that users must agree to use the collection only for personal purposes and not to download the works in wholesale fashion. So far, the public response to this offering has been overwhelming. In the first 12 hours after the launch, the online collection received more than 400,000 hits. And over the next four days, it received more than 12 million. With traffic levels easing up, now might be a good time to take a look.

by | Permalink | Comments (1) |

Support Open Culture

We’re hoping to rely on our loyal readers rather than erratic ads. To support Open Culture’s educational mission, please consider making a donation. We accept PayPal, Venmo (@openculture), Patreon and Crypto! Please find all options here. We thank you!

Comments (1)
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

Open Culture was founded by Dan Colman.