Neil deGrasse Tyson Stars in New Symphony of Science

Elec­tron­ic musi­cian John Boswell has just released the 12th install­ment in his “Sym­pho­ny of Sci­ence” series. Onward to the Edge cel­e­brates the adven­ture of space explo­ration and fea­tures the auto-tuned voic­es of astro­physi­cist Neil deGrasse Tyson, par­ti­cle physi­cist Bri­an Cox and plan­e­tary sci­en­tist Car­olyn Por­co. It’s a mashup of mate­r­i­al from four sources: Tyson’s My Favorite Uni­verse video course, Cox’s BBC series Won­ders of the Solar Sys­tem, a TED talk by Por­co and scenes from Nation­al Geo­graph­ic’s A Trav­el­er’s Guide to the Plan­ets.

The “Sym­pho­ny of Sci­ence” grew out of Boswell’s 2009 video, A Glo­ri­ous Dawn, which stitch­es togeth­er scenes from Carl Sagan’s Cos­mos and Stephen Hawk­ing’s Uni­verse and has been viewed over six mil­lion times on YouTube. You can down­load a free dig­i­tal album of all 12 songs from the series, along with a bonus track, here. H/T Boing­Bo­ing

Fol­low us on Face­book, Twit­ter and now Google Plus.

by | Permalink | Comments (0) |

Sup­port Open Cul­ture

We’re hop­ing to rely on our loy­al read­ers rather than errat­ic ads. To sup­port Open Cul­ture’s edu­ca­tion­al mis­sion, please con­sid­er mak­ing a dona­tion. We accept Pay­Pal, Ven­mo (@openculture), Patre­on and Cryp­to! Please find all options here. We thank you!

Leave a Reply

Open Culture was founded by Dan Colman.