Live: Watch NASA’s Coverage of Asteroid As It Buzzes By Earth

Writes NASA:

NASA Television will provide commentary starting at 11 a.m. PST (2 p.m. EST) on Friday, Feb. 15, during the close, but safe, flyby of a small near-Earth asteroid named 2012 DA14. NASA places a high priority on tracking asteroids and protecting our home planet from them. This flyby will provide a unique opportunity for researchers to study a near-Earth object up close.

The half-hour broadcast from NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., will incorporate real-time animation to show the location of the asteroid in relation to Earth, along with live or near real-time views of the asteroid from observatories in Australia, weather permitting.

At the time of its closest approach to Earth at approximately 11:25 a.m. PST (2:25 p.m. EST / 19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth’s surface.

The commentary will be available via NASA TV and streamed live online at: http://www.nasa.gov/ntv and http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

Or you can just watch above….

Note: You can also watch footage of the meteorite hitting Siberia this morning here.


by | Permalink | Comments (3) |

Comments (3)
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.
  1. louis says . . . | February 15, 2013 / 12:37 pm

    was the meteor that hit in Russia part of this Asteriod ?

  2. Dan Colman says . . . | February 16, 2013 / 12:48 am

    Nope, they were unrelated.
    Dan

  3. wikkizeus says . . . | February 17, 2013 / 4:03 am

    A close encounter /cum closest approach Check out to

    know more about Asteroid DA14 :-

    http://vikramadittya.wordpress.com/2013/02/15/clo

    se-encounterapproach-with-meteorite-da14/

Add a comment

Quantcast