“Every Country in the World”–Two Videos Tell You Curious Facts About 190+ Countries

From Wendover Productions--a Youtube channel dedicated to explaining how our world works, from travel, to economics, to geography--comes a two part series called "Every Country in the World."

In 30 minutes, the videos traverse the world, telling you curious facts about 190+ countries, starting with this: China, despite being so vast, doesn't have time zones. It's the same time across the entire country. Meanwhile it's neighbor, Afghanistan is "offset from Greenwich Mean Time by a 30 minute interval." When it's 9 am in San Francisco and 5:00 pm in London, it's actually 9:30 pm in Kabul.

How about another factoid: Canada is so geographically large that it's eastern border is closer to Croatia than Vancouver. Get the gist?

You can watch "Every Country in the World" above and below.

Related Content:

Free: National Geographic Lets You Download Thousands of Maps from the United States Geological Survey

Download 67,000 Historic Maps (in High Resolution) from the Wonderful David Rumsey Map Collection

The History of Cartography, the “Most Ambitious Overview of Map Making Ever,” Now Free Online

New York Public Library Puts 20,000 Hi-Res Maps Online & Makes Them Free to Download and Use


by | Permalink | Comments (0) |





Leave a Reply

Quantcast